Tuesdays With Dorie: Buttermilk Scones

4 Mar

Fumbling around the internet for cookie recipes or cake recipes made with lower amounts of sugar, seeking the What Happens When of reducing sugar in a recipe, trawling the sea of information for specifics that could only really be found in the mind of a food scientist or seasoned pastry chef, I bumped into Tuesdays With Dorie. Tuesdays With Dorie is a blog designed for people with blogs wishing to work through the recipes of Baking With Julia, and other books by Dorie Greenspan, over the course of a year, posting results on, yes, a Tuesday. As usual with internet searches, this was not what I was looking for but, intrigued, I signed up. I got the green light from the TWD élite in time for a March start.

I have owned Baking With Julia since purchasing my First Edition copy the year published, in 1996. I had fallen headlong in love with cooking and baking, was taking classes, feeding family and friends and coworkers, dreaming of little cafes. This book is a companion piece to one of Julia Childs’ PBS cooking shows. The series filmed in her kitchen, has the illustrious Julia keeping company with a variety of breadmakers, pastry chefs, restaurant owners, cookbook writers, each creating some of their signature baked items for her. I never watched many of the PBS episodes but have fiddled with several recipes in this book. For any number of reasons with me and cookbooks, I found the 2 or 3 recipes that became standards, and have rarely picked up the book since. Tuesdays With Dorie sounded like a motivating way to give the book another look and write more posts here. Happily, the first assignment for March is one of my standards: Buttermilk Scones.

One stipulation of TWD is that we are not to include recipes in our posts, instead encouraging others to purchase the beautiful book for themselves. For this rendition of scones, I have measured equal parts just-ground whole wheat and organic white unbleached all-purpose flours, salt, leaveners, cold butter in pieces, and coconut palm sugar. (Always try new recipes as written, then give yourself permission to try different flours or sugars or mix-ins, as long as they are in kind.)

mise en place

mise en place

The original method calls for combining the dry ingredients in a large bowl, and for working in the cold butter with fingers, a pastry cutter, or a knife & fork. I am comfortable with this method, but usually use a food processor for this first step of the process.

flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar, and lemon zest

Ready for pulsing.

A food processor is powerful, so pulsing the mixture into a coarse meal happens in less than a minute. I am able to keep the cold butter away from my warm hands, processing it quickly so it stays cold. At this point, I pour the flour/butter mixture into a mixing bowl before adding the liquid.

Ready for buttermilk

Ready for buttermilk.

As these scones are Buttermilk Scones, the recipe calls for buttermilk. When I have buttermilk on hand, I always save 1 cup for scone-making. The slightly sour, thick liquid works a magic with the other ingredients. When I don’t have buttermilk, I can use 1 tablespoon of vinegar + enough milk to make 1 cup total. The recipe calls for lemon or orange zest to be added along with the buttermilk. I zest the fruit over the food processor bowl instead, letting the long strands from my zester pulse with the butter. Also at this point, you can add a few currants or other diced plump dried fruit. I have even mixed in blueberries or pieces of firm pear with great success. I mix the flour and milk with a fork until combined. Like biscuits, scones don’t want to be overworked. While still in the bowl, I work the dough/batter with my hand, kneading gently until I can gather into a ball.

Ready for the work surface.

Ready for the work surface.

On the counter, I gently knead the mass for 2 or 3 more turns. The ball of dough is then divided in half, flattened into disks, brushed with melted butter, and cut into wedges. The disks should be 6- to 7-inches in diameter. You can also sprinkle extra sugar over the brushed-on butter.

Ready for cutting.

Ready for cutting.

For tiny scones, I create 3 disks instead of 2, with a diameter of 4-inches or so. This makes a nice size scone for a tea-tray. With all the cut scones positioned on a parchment-lined baking sheet, we are ready for a hot oven.

Ready for the oven.

Ready for the oven.

These scones only bake for 10-12 minutes. The hot oven of 425F gets the cold butter melted, leaving little caverns for the steam and leaveners to push out further. The result, even with the whole wheat I use, is some lovely light, flakey, crisp outside, tender inside just-baked yum.

Mmmmm

Mmmmm!

With the light glistening off my mirabelle plum jam, I will excuse myself now to go enjoy some Baking With Julia goodness.

Buttermilk Scones • Baking With Julia • Contributing Baker: Marion Cunningham • pages 210-211

16 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Buttermilk Scones”

  1. Grant March 4, 2014 at 10:11 pm #

    Do I get scones when I get home?

    • Lisa March 4, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

      Why yes!

  2. Stephanie March 4, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

    I’m wondering why a McDonald’s ad showed up at the end of your lovely very yummy post!

    • Lisa March 5, 2014 at 1:23 am #

      Ads are now randomly inserted into all sites that post for free. McDonald’s? Ew.

  3. sharron - one clever mom March 5, 2014 at 3:04 am #

    Brilliant to make three rounds and get smaller scones. I love it. Though maybe if they were smaller I would just eat more of them? Hmmm, not sure…

    • Lisa March 5, 2014 at 2:40 pm #

      A definite possibility!

  4. saucygander March 5, 2014 at 11:13 am #

    I wish I still had some! Yours look lovely – really light.

    • Lisa March 5, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

      Thank you! They really are a yummy scone.

  5. Teresa March 5, 2014 at 12:10 pm #

    They turned out beautifully and you made great, healthy substitutions. Welcome to the group!

    thefamilythatbakestogether.wordpress.com

    • Lisa March 5, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

      Thank you! I am looking forward to more projects.

  6. oven chaos March 5, 2014 at 8:48 pm #

    Great looking scones! I cut the sugar big time for this recipe and the final result did not disappoint. The height of your scones is perfect.

    • Lisa March 5, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

      Thanks! I always lower the sugar on these and never miss it either.

  7. Cathleen | My Culinary Mission March 6, 2014 at 5:24 am #

    Welcome! What a perfect recipe to start with. We really enjoyed these. I’m looking forward to making these again with different variations.

  8. Sunita March 6, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Your scones look great. They have really risen. I used half whole wheat too. I baked scones for the first time and loved them, now my quest is on in search of a recipe that uses less butter.

    • Lisa March 10, 2014 at 3:09 am #

      Ah, the butter is the beauty though! Let me know if you find a good recipe-thanks!

  9. SandraM March 6, 2014 at 11:35 pm #

    Welcome to the group! I have really enjoyed being a part of this group. Have learned a lot. Great post, and your scones looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

