Tuesdays With Dorie: Vanilla Pound Cake

15 Jul

It is officially summer in Western Washington. All of the 40F degrees and rain of (especially) November, February, and March are a distant and hazy memory. The gardens are relentless in their demand for water, raspberries ripen daily, hollering “pick me! pick me!”, dinners cooked and served al fresco, Junior entertaining us in the small but useful above-ground pool.

The cusp of this glorious summer had my sister getting married, and me working to make the after-party happen. While the caterers handled the delicious and very authentic taco bar and sides, I and some others worked magic for the dessert table. The varied array looked lovely and yummy! One of my offerings was to turn this flourless chocolate cake into pretty 3-bite morsels. I found the pan I wanted, but needed to test it on something here at home. As the Vanilla Pound Cake from Baking With Julia suggested using a tube or Bundt pan, I baked the cake as minis.

When I think pound cake, my mind  jumps to lemon. I love lemon pound cake, every sugary, dense, buttery bit of it. I had never made nor tasted any pound cake other than lemon. (OK-I may have had some Sara Lee from the freezer case at a potluck during a past life but that could never count.) This recipe is a straight-forward, everything at room temperature butter cake. Here’s what I did!

Mise en place

Mise en place

Sifted

Sifted

Sugar waiting to join butter

Sugar waiting to join butter

Eggs waiting to join sugar & butter

Eggs waiting to join sugar & butter

Flour taking turns with milk while vanilla looks on

Flour taking turns with milk while vanilla looks on

Cute cakes cooling

Cute cakes cooling

Just-picked raspberries and a powdered sugar dusting

Just-picked raspberries and a powdered sugar dusting

My new pan worked beautifully. Recipe formulation always takes into account the size of pan a cake will bake in. As I veered greatly from the pan size for this recipe, I had to guess on bake time. I stayed close to the oven and was happy with the result. The recipe calls to cut the cooled cake into slices, but the mini cakes were perfect to serve whole. The cakes were sweet, sturdy and tender, only lacking a dollop of whipped cream to keep the berries company. Rather than send all the extras to Spouse’s break room, I have several cakes Ziploc’d in my freezer, waiting to serve summer guests on the patio. As for the wedding chocolate cakes, they were light, moist, very chocolately, and the first thing to disappear from the buffet. Cheers!

Vanilla Pound Cake • Baking With Julia • Contributing Baker: Flo Braker • pages 251-252

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Vanilla Pound Cake”

  1. steph (whisk/spoon) July 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm #

    oh, these will make great freezer treats. good thinking! love the cute little baby bundts.

  2. Sunita July 16, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    The mini cakes look cute. How awesome that you took care of the dessert at your sister’s after-party.

  3. Cathleen July 17, 2014 at 2:00 am #

    Cute minis, and beautiful berries!

  4. Cher July 18, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    I love your mini version!
    And the cakes you made for your sisters wedding sound wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

