Annie’s Bourbon Vanilla

At Christmas, I receive beautiful things from my sister and my nieces. Teapots, water pitchers, felted wool patchwork throws, ornate measuring spoons, and custom collage have all been graced to me by these people. This last Christmas, I received this from my niece:

Vanilla
Vanilla beans in bourbon

This is vanilla extract at it’s finest. Infusing vanilla beans in alcohol takes time, so she cautioned me to wait 4 to 6  weeks before using. My jar is now half full so I will bring home more bourbon, more vanilla pods, and start another jar. Alchemists of old were intent on turning ordinary items into gold. My niece has done just that.

Leave a Reply

