Cake Plate

Last year I gave a Green Cameo Depression Glass Cake Plate to my mom for Christmas. With the plate, I gave instructions that the green beauty be returned to me 5 times during the year, wherein I would send it back burdened with cake.

Vintage
Vintage

My mom was remiss until sometime in October, when her obedience to the gift instructions was speedily rewarded with a most delicious apple cake, a cake I have no pictures of, and whose recipe I am now unable to locate, but it did exist, the small kitchen sample being gobbled up quickly.

When the plate returned to my tiny kitchen, I was awash in pumpkin and found a pumpkin cake recipe on Food52. I did my usual alterations, combining different flours and reducing sugar, the result worthy of the delicate support.

The usual suspects
The usual suspects

The egg whites, separated from the yolks, are only whisked until white and frothy.

White and frothy
White and frothy
Folding
Folding

The finished cake requires candied pumpkin seeds for the garnish: lightly toasted seeds coated with caramelized sugar and a little butter. This was easy to carry out while the cake was in the oven.

Pumpkin seeds
Pumpkin seeds
Can I get a "Yum?!?"
Can I get a “Yum?!?”

The cream cheese icing was a snap, the whole project straightforward.

Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas

With anything in the kitchen, nothing should be served without being tasted first. I mean, what if I had mixed up the salt and sugar or the pumpkin had turned or …? In any regard, I have 3 more cakes to go and not much time. Need to get that plate back!

So good.
So good.
One thought on “Cake Plate

Leave a Reply

